Blissfully Oblivious


Well I just completed my eighth day of shots without incident. Minus our first shot/bruise snafu-I’ve had no further bruising and limited bleeding. The hubs has done a spectacular job…even with the shot that “pops” every time it goes in! Man I hate that one! I feel better than I have in a long time. I have had no bloating and no symptoms for the most part. I’m wondering where these eggs are hiding.

I know I sound like a broken record but kicking my caffeine habit was the best decision ever!

Overall the week flew by and we have (hopefully) our final ultrasound with the penis wand today. (It’s a little worrisome when you get comfortable stripping off you clothes and spreading your legs wide while a doctor sticks a wand up your peach.) As of Thursday the doctor saw 28 follicles growing (follicles don’t mean eggs-but potential eggs). She feels confident they can get about 25 mature eggs in our retrieval which we hope will be Monday!

What does one do with 25 eggs…heck what does one do with 10 eggs?

The hubs and I signed our paperwork and appear to be in agreement…when we decide we are done having kids…the remainder will be donated. (If there are some). Per our doctor frozen embryos are a precious commodity. We should know! We’ve worked hard to get these! And besides, I think going through something like this you develop an empathy that can’t be ignored. But let’s be honest the embryos may not last through the unfreeze process, they may go to research…who knows but people deserve a chance.

Leave a comment